Unexpected Goodies

Two yoga mats

Then there were two

Hard to believe we’ve got only two and a half weeks to go.  Seems like yesterday we still had a couple thousand years.  I was behind by one class until Monday, when I managed to pull a double.  My accomplishment paled, however, next to my husband’s.  With only six or so classes under his belt, he pulled a double, too!

After Erin’s 11:00 o’clock class, which Mark also attended, I decided I would return for Val’s 4:30 to earn the star that would put me back on track.  Imagine my surprise when Mark said he’d join me.   Now imagine Erin and Val’s surprise when both of us re-materialized at the front desk.  Really, their faces were priceless.  Mark, still so new to Bikram, did not seem like a likely candidate for two stints in the torture chamber in one day.  But there he was, of his own accord.  He’s not collecting stars, but I think he deserves one.  Probably a massage, too.

As I think about what I’ve gained so far from the 60-Day Challenge, I’m surprised at how many things are unexpected.  By setting a simple, easily measured goal of 60 classes in 60 days, I’ve racked up a bunch of unanticipated benefits along the way.  I’m sure there will be more by the time I’m done, but here are a few I’ve noticed:

1. No more swelling in my feet

2. Better sleep

3. More happy thoughts and overall mental clarity

4. Better posture

5. Smaller waist (by about three inches!)

6. Softer, nicer-looking skin

7. More strength and flexibility in my motion-challenged left foot, and much greater ability to walk for longer distances without pain.

8. Better balance  (I still look like a klutz, but slightly less of one.)

9. Weight loss! (Only about 5 pounds, but I’m not complaining!)

and, drum roll please…

10. A partner!  I never expected Mark to join me on my yoga path, but by golly, here he is. Surprise, surprise, surprise!

7 thoughts on “Unexpected Goodies

  1. The best part of the double was the effect of the shortened time for functional memory loss of what Erin said to do in the morning and the corresponding advice provided by Val. And in this morning’s practice, with Bernadette, I actually noticed some improvements in technique… pretty minor improvements, but at least I’m beginning to connect the words with the how the body feels. But to be real…. the BEST part was the expression on Val’s face when Megan and I came in for the 4:30 class. Val had seen me after I finished the 9:00 am class and I probably didn’t convey the impression that I was coming back anytime soon… and certainly not within six hours! Now, that have a better sense of what the posture is supposed to be… I’m sore in all sorts of new places!

  2. Hahahah…..Mark. I’m enjoying reading your journey. Look at it remembering things from class now!

    Megan, that’s quite a litany list of improvements!!! I too will miss this challenge when it’s over. I feel like we just barely got into the groove.

  3. Wow go Mark! That’s awesome! So proud of you both. So cute, a yoga couple! 🙂 Now if only I could drag my own husband to class… he adamantly refuses but maybe someday….

  4. Good job pulling an unexpected doubles Megan and Mark. It is very nice to have the closest one share the same ‘hobby’ with. Heehee!

  5. Hi Megan, I talked to Val today after our conversation re the 60 days and how many days you can miss, and she said that as long as people don’t miss like 5-7 classes in a row, it’s fine to miss a few more than 5. So no worries! 🙂 You are still eligible for the 60 day challenge and the New You Challenge!

Leave a comment